Winding Ways Precut Block

Winding Ways Magazine

Take a look at the beautiful Winding Ways quilt on the cover of the American Patchwork & Quilting magazine for February. Laura Boehnke was the designer of this quilt and she used the Accuquilt precut shapes to make this quilt so there was no need to use rotary cutting techniques or purchased templates. The great thing about using the precut pieces is all you have to do is sew. The Winding Ways precut pieces have easy match and sew notches to help you align your fabric pieces together. What makes this quilt super easy is that I put the pieces together using a Fons and Porter fabric glue stick. The glue stick is finer than the regular glue sticks and I did not have to use any pins. I tried pinning the pieces together and then tried sewing but I just could not get the pieces together, the pins were always in the way. I tried the glue stick and well, it was just so easy peasy! It was so unbelievable how easy it was to sew these curved pieces. I am a fairly new quilter and I had no problem once I used the glue stick. …okay my pieces are not perfect but I am very very happy with the way that they have turned out. I decided to make this quilt somewhat like the magazine using blue and neutral fabrics. I wanted to sew another block showing what the blocks would look like using neutrals for the center flower but wouldn’t you know it I lost my glue stick! I searched high and low but to no avail, now I only have the blue flower blocks to show you.

You can purchase these blocks in your choice of fabrics or I can cut them from the fabric in your personal stash.

Winding Ways BlockWinding Ways Block AClick on the picture to see more details of the Winding Ways Precut Block. Please contact me if you would like to order Precut Winding Ways Shapes or if you would like your personal fabric cut into these wonderful blocks.

3 thoughts on “Winding Ways Precut Block

  1. Thus makes me feel guilty about the precut pack I have for a Winding Ways! I need to pull it out & task myself to make one a week! I will try the glue stick trick.

Leave a Reply

